Skip to content

Installation Gotcha’s

March 30, 2013

It seems it’s a while since I did some bare-metal builds. I’d forgotten how tricky it can end up having the iso you want on the wrong laptop, and then trying to find a USB stick big enough to copy it over with, oh, hang on, the one stick that’s big enough, I just spent 20 minutes expanding something for the next step onto that. It can be really annoying. I’ve no doubt I’m preaching to the converted, but the HP USB Key Utility that is so good at putting most images onto a bootable USB stick just doesn’t like Windows Server 2012. For this, the easiest way I’ve found is to use the free util from Microsoft, the MS Windows 7 USB/DVD Download Tool (http://www.microsoftstore.com/store/msstore/html/pbPage.Help_Win7_usbdvd_dwnTool). Not sure I’ve ever used it for a client OS, but it works a treat on server OS’s, dead simple and quick. All good.

ย 

So far then, in home-lab world, I’ve got an HP Microserver installed with an up-to-date Windows Server 2012 install, built a a new new forest and domain on there, and started to tear down the other machines. Fair enough, I could have migrated some VM’s over to see that but I would only have been deleting them afterwards, I’m starting afresh with all this, so I’m going through and reinstalling everything. The other HP Microserver is installed again with 2012 and this is going to be my DPM2012 box. There’s a load of storage in there, about 5-6TB I think, so it makes sense to use that for that purpose. I’m off work over the next week or so but have plenty of other commitments to attend to, so I might not get too much done, but hopefully get some more bare metal builds done to start putting stuff on. Spending a fair bit of time looking at SCCM2012 for work, so that’s a bit of a focus at the moment. It looks a good product and though we have a few builds at work, it’s always good to get a labbed version to play around with and break, and fix, and break, and fix… ๐Ÿ˜‰

Until next time ๐Ÿ™‚

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

