Skip to content

DNS Scavenging

April 16, 2013

Been a while since I posted on here, apologies, been very busy doing ‘proper’ work, and being goaded into some ‘home life’, whatever that is…

I realised the other day that a couple of years ago, I had picked something up on DNS scavenging and knew it was important but I couldn’t find the email describing it. Due to being required to do some house-keeping on my mailbox, I found it while going through stuff to junk.

It’s common to find information on ticking the checkbox for zone scavenging, and general intelligence on leaving the 7 day default. The info I received is something I’ve not read anywhere else (I believe that’s correct) and would therefore like to throw it out to anyone reading this blog <tumbleweed>. It boils down to this :

Scavenging can be set to 7 days (as above, fairly generic, unless you have particular requirements for some reason)

The GPO Settings that need enabled under Computer configuration -> Network – > Administrative Templates -> Network -> DNS Client are:

Dynamic Update

Register PTR Records

Replace Addresses in Conflicts

These three settings will ensure Dynamic Updates of Forward and Reverse Lookups and prevent duplicate records being created as the old record will be replaced in a conflict state, instead of just adding a new/duplicate one.

As I first mentioned, this blog is as much a central place to put my own meanderings as anything else, so I won’t have this archived away to some mail solution that I can’t get to when I need to… But I would welcome any comments from anyone who has tried this, or could critique it technically.

 

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

