Skip to content

Installing DPM 2012 SP1

April 29, 2013

What a mission this was. Most of Friday was spent attempting to crow bar this onto a remote standalone SQL server,one of my HPDL360 G5’s running Windows Server 2012 and SQL Server 2012. The ability to do this is one of the ‘highlights’ of SP1, and I was keen to try this, seeing as so much runs off SQL, and the fact that I’d FINALLY got the bloody SQL box up and running. It wasn’t keen however. Despite invoking the knowledge of one of our DBA’s, it seems I was installing Reporting Services correctly to the pre-installed instance created specifically for DPM. But the installer was just not happy. I tried all sorts of variations within the installer itself, using the FQDN of the server which resulted in even earlier failure, a fact documented by several other bemused IT pros. Nothing. I finally gave in for the time being, there’s a matter here of just wanting to get a platform up for everything else, so the quirks of one product seemed minor in comparison. I shall revisit this, probably in another sandbox environment, but it’s perplexing how this can be so hard to even install.

It all seems quite simple on this blog post : http://flemmingriis.com/?p=1325 but not for me.

This post from the Core Team at MS : http://blogs.technet.com/b/askcore/archive/2009/01/19/sql-installation-and-reporting-issues-with-data-protection-manager.aspx gives somewhere to start (my error was the 812, but this didn’t fix in my case, nothing on 443…) but it would seem that I’m not alone. Spoiled my Friday afternoon, but it got a bit better when I spent a few hours over the weekend getting going with DPM. SQL server and 2012 DC added, and protected. I have a few alerts occurring in the admin console, so some learning there, nice and early on. DC required a few ports opening on the Windows Firewall, but all on one page on Technet : http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/hh757794.aspx

Another separate issue I found while researching the problem, seems different to my own issue, but worth highlighting nonetheless : http://jeffgraves.me/2013/03/04/sql-server-reporting-services-error-installing-dpm-2012-sp1-with-remote-sql-2012-database/

A point to make here, I am using the Windows firewall on each server here for my own education. I’m aware a lot of the time this is disabled and reliance set on corporate dedicated hardware for security, but some houses will use it, and it’s not a bad thing to get some grasp on what components need to work. Like it or not, learning is an exercise in improving skills with these technologies, not exercising my own bias in what’s good and what’s not.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

