Skip to content

Blogs, RSS Feeds and YouTube

June 17, 2013

An update on learning sources I’ve been using lately.

Amazon are dropping off a delivery via Collect+ to a shop local to work of a couple of books.Maybe I’m easily pleased but I find the Collect+ system really clever and hugely convenient. Why this has never been introduced by any any budding entrepreneur previously is beyond me. I order lots of stuff from Amazon, mainly IT books, and it’s a huge pain to get outcarded by some delivery chap, or have it randomly thrown over a fence in the vain hope I get there before it pours with rain (ask me how I know). Quick trip out for lunch, pick up my books at the same counter. Awesome.

The books are : http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/1597499803/ref=oh_details_o00_s00_i00?ie=UTF8&psc=1 another tomb by Thomas Shinder, a reliable writer of books and blogs and the title tempted me, being as it should give me an update on the security design of the latest server OS and how to leverage new features to secure an enterprise. I’m expecting the highlighted features to be included such as DHCP Guard and Router Guard, but hoping there’ll be some clever configuration choices too. We’ll see 🙂

Next up is : http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/1849684421/ref=oh_details_o00_s00_i02?ie=UTF8&psc=1 , another book in the CookBook series, I’m doing my Private Cloud MCSE at the moment, so in for a penny, in for a pound. Always good to try and pick up information from as many sources as possible.

I’m late to the table with RSS feeds, I know. It’s like announcing that CD’s are amazing because they hold more than a 5.25″ floppy, but having pathetically attempted to keep checking on good blogs in the past, I discovered the value of picking up feeds on new posts via Outlook but never really got around to keeping up with them. Since picking up the iPad mini, I’ve been using Feedler to collate my Google Reader feeds. Unfortunately, it seems I’ve cursed it, and Google are ceasing the service. Why, I have no idea. I’m not a big user of Google services generally, bar the free and very good email service, but the Reader service seems to be excellent. Shame. I’m going to have to export my feed list before the end of the month and find another app to use. I like Feedler as it’s a real no-frills app, just displays the pertinent information clearly, just what I want. Other apps seem to show it in a magazine format and such like. I haven’t tried anything else yet, but I hope I can find something that provides the exact same combo of service as Feedler and Google Reader. For what it’s worth, I’ll report back on this as and when, hopefully with a 🙂

YouTube has surprised me. Having seen a reference to some videos published on there by ieitpro (http://blogs.technet.com/b/ieitpro/), I had an exploratory browse around for various search terms and found a lot of stuff. Fair enough, there’s some garbage on there, it’s to be expected, but a lot of quality information. I’ve subscribed to several publishers to see what they come up with and how often, but it surprised me how worthwhile it is to keep an eye on there. If you’re looking to make an entrance into the world of IT, and even the prospect of the odd book or two is a financial stretch too far (hey, everyone starts somewhere, we should all know that), have a look. It’s rare to find a human being anywhere who doesn’t have broadband, or a huge data allowance on a mobile phone, so it’s both cheap and convenient for any level.

The issue with all of this is…….it’s too good. So many different sources of information are available anywhere at any time through so many different forms of media that it’s hard to know where to start. One of the things that makes us all equal is that we only have so many hours in the day, and keeping on top of all this is hard. My OCD tells me that I can’t miss an authors blog, so it has to get added, and then their back-catalogue contains another 40 hours of highly valuable videos, where do I find the time to start going through those as well? The swing towards IT Pro’s being required to know a wide band of knowledge is becoming more and more unsustainable. My little bubble of the Microsoft world is moving faster and faster. The R2 releases of Server 2012 and SC2012 are being marketed as nothing like a service pack, these are full R2 releases, bubbling with new and improved features. It’s all happening faster and faster, and it’s becoming harder and harder to keep a high-level of knowledge on everything. Hmmm.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

