Skip to content

Duplicate DNS Zones Causing Strange Issues

November 4, 2014

I’m posting this as it’s not something I’ve seen before. I might be behind the game here but it’s not something I’ve been aware of previously. In fact, when I found this, I wasn’t actually looking for it, but when I did happen on it, I decided to investigate a little further. So thanks to Ace Fekay for this :

http://blogs.msmvps.com/acefekay/2009/09/02/using-adsi-edit-to-resolve-conflicting-or-duplicate-ad-integrated-dns-zones/

I have seen previously the issues of mysteriously disappearing records, and although that was a long time ago and it’s not possible to test this against that particular scenario, I suspect this might have had something to do with it. There’s nothing that will affect a Windows Server infrastructure more than shaky DNS.

So, if this is a gimme for most of you, I apologise but it was definitely something I hadn’t stumbled across before.

From → DNS

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

