Skip to content

The Changing IT Landscape

November 26, 2014

I’m sure I’m not alone in this thinking, and doubtless others have spoken about the same thing. IT is in itself a fast moving beast and we all know this. I’ve traditionally been what I consider Microsoft-centric. I sing the ‘everything is awesome’ song to myself each and every morning on the way to work. However, even just over the past 6 months perhaps, I’ve found myself irresistibly drawn towards new and exciting ways of doing things.

I find myself reading about Docker, and Chef, and other such technologies that seem really new (although they probably aren’t, I just haven’t been reading the right blogs). It’s interesting that building a VM in Azure now has the option to bake in an Octopus agent (hilariously termed a tentacle), and a Chef agent. Microsoft appears to be embracing these technologies more and more, HDInsight pulls in Hadoop, for example. DevOps seems to be all anyone talks about now, and I reckon to have a good spin on what it is, but what it means TO ME is that I should be getting more involved with the dev side, something that turns me white. It’s not that I don’t like the pasty faced hermits (lol), it’s just I’m not a coder and don’t walk in that world of thinking. Is it going to be as easy as people say? Do these two worlds comfortably combine in a happy, smiley way? Another change of thinking.

When Microsoft themselves are using third-party, and often Open Source technologies, it feels as though I’m going through a shift. Perhaps the days of being a Microsoft guy are fading, and it’s time to embrace a new way of thinking. The business has always termed our department ‘platform’, which I was never keen on but that might be a better description now than when it was thought up.

So the IT landscape is still a changing one, but it’s not only getting faster with accelerating Microsoft releases, the mindset required to succeed is evolving just as fast.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

